top of page

Wendy Speaks (sort of)


In the light of pretty heavy evidence that State Rep. Wendy Nanney is not showing up and doing her job, she released the following statement on her record:

I am proud of my voting record in the State House as a representative for District 22, and this year we have been able to accomplish great things in the face of adversity. Admittedly, at times, this year has been somewhat trying for my family and I – having been out with illness for an extended period. But in no way has this hindered my effectiveness as a legislator.

In fact, just a few days ago the South Carolina Association of Clerks of Court and Register of Deeds named me the “Legislator of the Year” for 2016. I believe my accomplishments speak to my work ethic, and I look forward to continue serving my constituents in Greenville county (sic).

I've also been recognized by my peers, the Senators and House members of Greenville County, and was elected to serve as the Chairman of the Greenville County Legislative Delegation.

Let's break down these paragraphs

Based on state records, she missed the entire days of April 28, March 22, March 21, March 10, March 9, March 8, February 23, February 4 and January 26. Of course, on one of those days (March 8), one of her only three bills introduced this term was brought up on floor. It has yet to pass. Now, if she is sick, our deepest sympathies. However, if the family crisis is so bad, why is she running for State House?

As for the award, her husband is the Register of Deeds for Greenville. Can't help but wonder if that is just a coincidence.

As for the last part, we have learned that no one else wanted the position. They had to pick her.

bottom of page